Latest News
News ID: 4590
Publish Date: 12 June 2017 - 08:30
The mutual cooperation between Uzbekistan and Pakistan is increasing with each passing day.
ECO-IESTECO-IEST: The mutual cooperation between Uzbekistan and Pakistan is increasing with each passing day. Uzbekistan’s President Shavkat Mirziyoyev, who arrived in Astana on June 8 to attend the summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), met with Pakistan’s Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, the Uzbek president’s press service said in a message.

During the meeting, special attention was paid to the current state and prospects of relations between the two states, as well as issues of strengthening regional security, according to the message.

Uzbekistan supported Pakistan’s admission to the SCO as a member state, paid particular attention to this issue during its chairmanship in the organization.

At the meeting, Mirziyoyev noted that Uzbekistan will further develop the multifaceted and mutually beneficial cooperation with Pakistan, according to the message.

Sharif, for his part, said that Pakistan is interested in expanding the partnership with Uzbekistan in all fields, particularly economic and energy cooperation, connectivity and human resource development.

He expressed the desire to take bilateral relations to new heights based on mutually beneficial cooperation.

He said Uzbekistan’s impressive annual economic growth and rich energy resources, and Pakistan’s large industrial and agricultural base provided an ideal environment for expansion of trade and commercial cooperation between the two countries.

Uzbekistan and Pakistan support each other on the international arena. As of today, about 50 interstate, intergovernmental and interdepartmental documents have been signed in the political, trade and economic, cultural and humanitarian and other spheres. There are 55 enterprises operating in Uzbekistan, organized jointly with Pakistan.

Within the framework of the Tashkent SCO Summit in Astana scheduled for June 8-9, the procedure for admission of India and Pakistan as member states to the organization will be completed.

The SCO was established in 2001. The SCO members now are China, Kazakhstan, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan, Iran, Mongolia and Belarus are the SCO observer-countries, while Azerbaijan, Turkey, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Nepal and Armenia are dialogue partners.

Source: Azernews
* Comment: